South Liverpool FC
South Liverpool FC

1970's Reserve & Youth team pictures

1970/71 Prescot & District Youth League Champions

Here are South youths team in 1971 with the league trophy. Coach was Gerry Towey. 5th from left is Jimmy Case who graduated to the first team in and was snapped up by Liverpool and went on to have considerable success!!! 


Team (l-r) Tony Pallin (with trophy), Amo Moore, Gerry Rogers, Keith Garland, Jimmy Case, Joe Flynn, Tony O'Boyle, Len Farrell, Frank Sankey, John Geddes (gk), Steve Murray, Sean Whelan, Gerry Towey (coach)


Other team regulars were Dave Griffiths, Gerry McGarry, Steve Lake.

Gerry Towey had previously been at Formby FC & brought Geddes, Murray & Whelan to Holly Park from his Brows Lane days.  

Thanks to Sean Whelan for completing the line-up (Aiug 22).


There is a photo from the final in our 1970's gallery, we lost 1 - 0 to Prescot Town. The final game was played at Earle FC's Wavertree ground on Lance Lane. The ground is now exclusively part of the Bluecoat School's playing field, Earle's wooden hut changing room long gone.

1972/73 Youth Team 

South Liverpool Youth Team 1973 - Runners Up in the Liverpool Sunday league Youth Division, preparing for the Lancashire County FA Youth Cup Final 


Back Row (l-r) Joby Humphreys (manager), Mick O'Boyle, Paul Thomas, Paul Raven, Kevin O'Leary, John Cain, Steve Woodcock, John Ravenscroft, Les Parkes (asst manager)

Front Row (l-r) John Burgh, Steve Moore, Bobby Murdoch (First Team Manager), Steve Short, Paul Budgen, Chris Daly.  

1972/73 Lancashire FA Youth Cup success

The team pre the final at Bursocugh 26/04/73 -

Back Row (l-r) Mick O'Boyle, Steve Woodcock, Billy Birch, Paul Raven, John Cain, Richie Budgen, Joe Hinnigan.

Front Row (l-r) Chris Daly, Paul Thomas, Steve Short, Steve Moore, John Ravenscroft 


Steve Woodcock, John Cain, Joe Hinningan, Steve Short & John Ravenscroft went to play for the first team in the Northern Premier League. Keeper Billy Birch went on to be a senior referee and is South Liverpool FC Club Chairman 

South Liverpool FC Lancashire County FA Youth Cup Winners 1972/73. South beat Southdene (Kirkby) 1-0 in the final at Burscough with a second half Chris Daly penalty settling the game.  South retained the Trophy the following year defeating Wigan Athletic again at Burscough and again 1-0, that goal coming from Steve Moore.  


The asst coach on the left was Les Parry (in blue) back row, on the other end of the back row was Joby Humphries who was our coach. Front row extreme right was team secretary Mr Alan Bartlam now vice chairman of Vauxhall Motors FC

Here the lads are celebrating. From left to right is John Cain, Richard Budgen Paul Raven, Chris Daley, next our keeper and on the right our leading goal scorer John Ravenscroft.

We won 1-0 via a 20th minute penalty converted by Chris Daley.

Our team that night was Billy Birch, Richard Budgen, Steve Short, John Cain (capt) Mick O’Boyle, Steve Moore, Joe Hinnigan, Chris Daley, Paul Thomas, John Ravenscroft, Paul Raven. Sub Steve Woodcock who was used.


Great to hear in March 2013 from our captain that night John Cain. After playing for Souths first team he moved to Australia, in the summer of 1975 where he still resides.


1973 Liverpool Sunday League Youth Squad at Holly Park

Not strictly a South team picture but one worth recording. South's youth team were in the Liverpool Sunday League Youth Division finishing runners up to Lister and also won for the first time the Lancashire County FA Youth Cup (above). The Sunday League's representative side featured in the squad four South players including team capatin Joe Hinnigan. South's other three above are Steve Moore, Mick O'Boyle and Chris Daly.

1974 South Youth team

South Liverpool Youth Team 1974

Phil McFerran (third from left back row - went on to manage South in the late 1980's)

Middle front row is Ged (not Jim) McKenna!


Contact us at -

South Liverpool FC - 

Jericho Lane Sports Hub

Otterspool Drive, 
Liverpool.   L17 5AR




Pitchside Sponsors

Print | Sitemap
© South Liverpool FC (1991) Management Comittee